2017 Conference Agenda

Friday, February 17, 2017
9:00 – 9:45 Welcome & Registration
9:45 – 10:00 Opening Remarks

Professor Alan K. Henrikson, Lee E. Dirks Professor of Diplomatic History Emeritus at the Fletcher School

10:00 – 11:45 Climate Change Mitigation, Adaptation, and Resilience

Sponsored by the Tufts Institute of the Environment

Kelly Sims Gallagher | Professor and Director of the Center for International Environment & Resource Policy, The Fletcher School
Dalee Sambo Dorough | Vice Chairperson, United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues and Professor at the University of Alaska Anchorage
Victoria Herrman | President and Managing Director of the Arctic Institute
David Keith | Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics at Harvard’s John A. Paulson School of Engineering
11:45 – 12:45 Lunch

Keynote Address: Elizabeth Pierce, CEO, Quintillion


12:45 – 14:15 Québec’s Plan Nord and Northern Diplomacy: an integrated and partner-based approach

Sponsored by the Government of Québec

Robert Sauvé | Chief Executive Officer, Société du Plan Nord
Éric Théroux | Ministry of International Relations and La Francophonie, Québec
René Therrien | Chair, Implementation Committee and Vice Dean of Research Faculty of Science and Engineering, Université Laval, Canada
Paul A. Berkman (moderator) | Professor of Practice in Science Diplomacy, The Fletcher School
14:15 – 14:30 Coffee Break
14:30 – 16:00 Legal Implications in the Arctic

Sponsored by Arctic/Pan-Arctic Options

Timo Koivurova | Research Professor, Director of Arctic Centre at the University of Lapland, Finland
Suzanne Lalonde | Associate Professor of International Public Law at the University of Montréal, Canada
Rachael Johnstone | Professor of Law at the University of Akureyri, Iceland
Oran Young | Distinguished Professor Emeritus, UC Santa Barbara
Paul A. Berkman (moderator) | Professor of Practice in Science Diplomacy, The Fletcher School
14:30 – 16:00 Arctic Choices! A Sustainable Development Simulation

 Sponsored by the World Wildlife Fund

Anne Mette Erlandsson | Lead Specialist for Sustainable Development, World Wildlife Fund
16:00 – 17:00 Student Presentations
17:00 – 17:30 Closing Remarks by Ambassador David A. Balton, Chair of the Arctic Council
19:00 – 21:00 Evening Event


Saturday, February 18, 2017
   9:30 – 10:00 Welcome and Registration
10:00 – 11:45 Exercising Leadership in a Globalizing North
Natan Obed | President, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
Halla Hrund Logadóttir | Louis Bacon Environmental Fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School and former director of the Iceland School of Energy
Tara Sweeney | Executive Vice-President, Arctic Slope Regional Corporation and Chair of the Arctic Economic Council
Nathan Cohen-Fournier (moderator) | Co-Chair, Fletcher Arctic Conference
11:45 – 12:45 Lunch followed by artistic performance “A Gift from Earth”

Sponsored by the Korean American Cultural Foundation of Greater Boston

12:45 – 14:30 Future Arctic: Innovation for the UN Sustainable Development Goals

Sponsored by the Institute for Business in a Global Context

Melissa Harris | Arctic Project Manager, International Institute for Sustainable Development
Anders Oskal | Director of the International Centre for Reindeer Husbandry
Anne Mette Erlandsson | Lead Specialist for Sustainable Development, World Wildlife Fund
Nils Arne Johnsen | Arctic Director, Ramboll Group
Maxwell McGrath-Horn (moderator) | Co-Chair, Fletcher Arctic Conference
14:30- 14:45 Coffee Break
14:45 – 15:45 Arctic Security Scenarios
CDR Scott Hale | Acting Senior Arctic Advisor, US Coast Guard
Rebecca Pincus | Distinguished Professor of Maritime Policy, US Coast Guard
Fu-Kuo Liu | Research Fellow in the Institute of International Relations at National Chengchi University, Taiwan
Rockford Weitz (moderator) | Executive Director, Institute for Global Maritime Studies
15:45 – 17:00 The Rise of North Atlantic Trade

Sponsored by the Maine North Atlantic Trade Office

John Henshaw | Maine Port Authority
Patrick Arnold | New England Ocean Cluster
Larus Isfeld | Managing Director, Eimskip USA Inc.
Anita Parlow | Fulbright Scholar, Iceland
17:00 – 19:00 Closing Statement and Reception